That overwhelmed feeling – a few thought scraps of thoughts on that

You know that feeling where you have a dozen things to do and not enough time to do them? That is the life of a teacher.

At the moment I constantly have thoughts ruminating at the back of my head about what I can do to support and accelerate different students’ learning. It is like a storm back there.

Never underestimate the power of bouncing ideas off others. Talking with others is what I’m missing. That ability to nut something out. I need some time to mull things over, but taking that time feels like cheating. Shouldn’t I just know the answers?

Anyway, today I am going to comfort myself through it with some comforting quotes about literacy that I snapped at a Kay Hancock seminar last week on the new Ready to Read series.

IMG_6581

IMG_6592
Note to self with this one – read up on Lawrence Sipe’s work. 

 

IMG_6591

IMG_6593
This one has some excellent and simple ideas for engaging readers with texts. 

 

That overwhelmed feeling – a few thought scraps of thoughts on that

Leave a Reply

