Educamp – the hangover

What a day to have a hangover.

Ok – a disclaimer. I am not the kind of person who goes out drinking every weekend and regularly has hangovers. I go out rarely and am most definitely not whiling away my weekends detoxing on the couch. I have two kids. That would never work. No usually, I’m in bed by 9:30 and up with the kids at 7.

But this weekend I was up at 7 for a different reason – I was on my way to #educampPalmy and for an unwelcome change I was hungover. I would probably have stayed home, but I’d signed myself up to present and I didn’t want to turn around and pull out.

So, I stocked up. Ibuprofen and V. I was ready. Ish.

Then spent a happy hour chatting with Robyn, my pet PRT, in the car till we got to Palmerston North. While I’m on the subject of Robyn, I think everyone should get themselves a BT in their life. Enthusiasm is infectious and BTs have got it in spades.

I’m not sure why I thought this was my time to offer presenting at an educamp. I think it was a combination of me thinking not many people had signed up (though it turned out there were plenty when I got there) so I should do my bit, “feel the fear and do it anyway”, or actually having something that I thought was worthwhile. Sharing is caring right? Plus, recently I’ve been practising having more confidence in myself. I can do that, I thought!

 

I started off my smackdown with a confession – I was hungover. This got a big laugh. I think it scored me a bit of a sympathy vote, so, so far, so good. I offered up my knowledge on the NZ Read Aloud, something that I am very passionate about, and Stop Motion Animator – a new love of mine and my students.

And people came along! We talked, we shared ideas and insights. In the Stop Motion session we played and created. I had raided my son’s toys so we had little figures to play with, I borrowed my schools webcams and it was a happy hour of tinkering around showing people things I’m so excited to know about myself.

I think that is the joy of the educamp – people sharing ideas, people sharing passion, people talking and laughing and getting inspired. As I said before, enthusiasm is infectious and there’s nothing like getting enthused again to remind you why we do this teaching job.

I don’t think I’m the expert on either of the things I shared in my sessions. There are always things to learn and to do better, but that’s not the point of the educamp I believe. It is a collective knowledge exchange. “I don’t have all the answers, but here’s where I start – what do you think? Oh, that’s cool, I’ll try that…maybe this could work???”

More of this kind of collaboration should be going on in schools. We are all too isolated and I believe that isn’t the purpose of education at all. At the heart of education is the concept of sharing. Sharing knowledge and skills with learners. And learners sharing what they bring along too.

After the day finished I felt pretty proud of myself. I could do that again too! It was fun! And, my hangover was hardly noticeable, so that was a good result too!

Educamp – the hangover

2 thoughts on “Educamp – the hangover

  1. Jo Smith says:

    “I don’t think I’m the expert on either of the things I shared in my sessions. There are always things to learn and to do better, but that’s not the point of the educamp I believe. It is a collective knowledge exchange. “I don’t have all the answers, but here’s where I start – what do you think? Oh, that’s cool, I’ll try that…maybe this could work???””
    Love this paragraph! You did a great job of doing this yesterday- initiating a conversation for others to take something from and build upon it. More than a few people excited about stop go after your breakout! go you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

