What is knowledge?

This was a question posed to us during our mindlab session.

Is it a noun?

Is it a verb?

What are we aiming for here?

Whenever I think of the word knowledge, this poem pops in my head. It’s by New Zealander Laura Ranger and she wrote it when she was like 7 years old or something equally amazing.

10596965

 

Two Word Poem By Laura Ranger 

The toad sat on a red stool

it was a toadstool

The rain tied a bow in the cloud’s hair

it was a rainbow.

Which witch put sand

in my sandwich?

I stood under the bridge,

then I understood.

I sat on the ledge and

thought about what I know.

It was knowledge.

 

I love how this poem so simply dissects language and yet also seems to be making a deep statement about knowledge at the end. A more in depth analysis of the poem can be found here.

Looking back and thinking about what we know is truly a key to understanding learning and knowing what knowledge is. Metacognition, learning to think, learning to learn, thinking about thinking and thinking to learn.

Our knowledge is us.

 

What is knowledge?

Leave a Reply

