I’m sorry if my idealism offends you…

So, I’ve been thinking. And thinking. And thinking. I thought it was time to translate some of those thoughts into words. This is difficult. How do I know that my thoughts are worth writing? That my words are worth reading? But I need to make the leap.

I have just returned from #educampwelly. An overwhelming and intense day. A big shout out to all those who dedicated so much of their time to planning an amazing event that inspires so many.

But I’m feeling overwhelmed. I’m feeling full up. Ideas are flying around in my mind and I don’t know what to do with them. Where to start? Who can manage all this alone? So, I’m processing. I need to give myself some wait time.

The thing is, I don’t think I just want to change the world for my students. I want the world to change for my students. I want all students to have every opportunity. For example, I want them to be using design thinking to make a difference in their community (whether that be their class, their school, their neighbourhood or something bigger). I want ALL students to have that, but how will that happen with the way that things are at the in teaching and learning across the country at the moment, across the world and across history. Brick walls are there for so many to hit into. Inequality and inequity are rife. There are so many battles to be fought in perceptions of teaching and learning that it’s difficult to fight alone.

It is an exciting time to be a teacher. I know. Much is changing, we hope. Much is improving, we hope. The dawn of Education 3.0, we hope. But it’s also a scary time. Change is wonderful, but change is not always easy, even for those who want to change. Why couldn’t I have been someone who was happy with the status quo? Punched my card and photocopied my worksheets. Life would be so much more straightforward.

I feel lucky that I am at a school where I am able to experiment. To try and to fail at the new and to question the old. And I will keep on doing that. I don’t seem to be able to help myself. Sometimes I’m winning and sometimes not so much. It’s hard, but I have to believe my own thoughts that it will be worth it in the end.

I’m sorry if my idealism offends you…

5 thoughts on “I’m sorry if my idealism offends you…

  1. Hey Belinda,
    It is AWESOME that you have decided to start a blog to record your learning journey. You will find it that place you come to when you need …to reflect, to clarify, to question, to share. I look forward to following your journey…and remember, your blog is YOURS and if what you are writing is important and necessary for you – that is a ll that matters:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Of course it will be worth it in the end – you will see a shift w/students and relationships with students and teachers, gain further confidence too. Remember “status quo” would be stagnant and irrelevant very quickly in our changing world. Inspired first post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

